Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards Winners Announced

Queensland based CIRCA, a circus and physical theatre troupe that have redefined what contemporary circus looks and feels like have been awarded the Group Award ($80,000). One of Australia’s most distinctive and widely-performed playwrights, Daniel Keene is the Joint Individual Winner ($25,000). He is joined by the effervescent composer Elena Kats-Chernin as the Joint Individual Award ($25,000).
Mohindar Dhillon a trailblazer in multicultural performance, who has for 33 years presented some of India’s greatest Hindustani and Carnatic musicians and dancers, wins the Joint Facilitator’s Prize ($10,000) He is sharing this honour with Jill Morgan AM who has for over 25 years worked tirelessly with multicultural and indigenous artists, showcasing the breadth and depth of Australia’s cultural identity, Joint Facilitator’s Prize ($10,000).
The annual Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards are valued at $150,000.
‘I am delighted by the depth and the diversity of talent that has been recognised at this year’s Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards’, says Carrillo Gantner AO, Chairman, Sidney Myer Fund Trustees.  ‘Once again we are reminded how important the arts are to us and how they can broaden our understanding and appreciation of the world around us. Each of the winners have been generous and passionate contributors to the arts and audiences alike and I warmly congratulate them.’

The 2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards winners are:
CIRCA – 2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Group Award Winner  $80,000
CIRCA is the new frontier in circus arts. Under the leadership of Yaron Lifschitz, CIRCA’s evolution from Rock ‘n’ Roll Circus has re-defined what contemporary circus looks like, feels like and sounds like through a brilliant succession of entertaining and successful shows.
Daniel Keene – 2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Joint Individual Award Winner  $25,000
Daniel Keene is one of Australia’s most distinctive and widely performed playwrights. Writing for the theatre since 1979, Daniel has won prizes for his work in almost every state in Australia as well as overseas.
Elena Kats-Chernin – 2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Joint Individual Award Winner  $25,000
Elena Kats-Chernin is one of this country’s finest composers. This colourful, effervescent musician has a freshness and eclectic style about her artistic pursuits, mixing her personal character and musical creativity in everything she has produced.
Mohindar Dhillon – 2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Joint Facilitator’s Prize Winner  $10,000
Mohindar Dhillon is a trailblazer in multicultural performance. He is a producer and promoter of the most essential type – one focussed chiefly with the connection between artists and audiences. His relentlessness has built bridges where none existed and fuelled enthusiasm for the highest quality Indian artists where once there was indifference.
Jill Morgan – 2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Joint Facilitator’s Prize Winner  $10,000
Jill Morgan AM has achieved the most extraordinary outcomes in the pursuit of a richer, more representative, national cultural voice. For over 25 years Jill has worked tirelessly with multicultural and indigenous artists, continually reminding us the breadth and depth of Australia’s cultural identity.
The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards are a celebration of the performing arts across Australia. They pay tribute to outstanding excellence in drama, comedy, dance, music, opera, circus and puppetry.
Announced annually, the national awards are determined by a Judging Committee chaired by Carrillo Gantner AO (Chairman of the Sidney Myer Fund) and this year they included:  Paul Dyer AO (Artistic Director of the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra), Brett Sheehy AO (Artistic Director of Melbourne Theatre Company), Hannah Skrzynski (Director of Creative Asia) and Sarah Neal (Executive Producer, Malthouse Theatre).
The Judging Committee recognises past achievements but also gives consideration to the potential of an individual or group to continue their contribution to Australian society through the performing arts.
The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards were established in 1984 by the Trustees of the Sidney Myer Fund, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the death of Sidney Myer, a passionate advocate and great friend to the arts.

Most read news

Cirque du Soleil postpones Melbourne performances

Cirque du Soleil has decided to postpone Melbourne performances of its show KURIOS until 15 April, 2020

Adelaide Festival Centre COVID-19 update

Following the declaration of a Public Health Emergency in South Australia, Adelaide Festival Centre venues will close to the public and all performances will be suspended from midnight until the 30th of April.

Theatre Works to Close Until May

In response to the unfolding health situation, Theatre Works have made the difficult but necessary decision to temporarily close our venue until 1 May.

Melbourne International Jazz Festival 2020 cancelled

Scheduled to be programmed this winter, the Melbourne International Jazz Festival (MIJF) in its current form will be cancelled in response to ongoing developments regarding the threat of COVID-19.

Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour cancelled

Opera Australia has regretfully cancelled the upcoming Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour, La Traviata, in line with the government ban on static public gatherings of more than 500 people to try to limit the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

Sign up for our newsletter

* indicates required