2008 Griffin Award Shortlist Announced

Griffin Theatre Company has released the judges’ shortlist of eight plays in the running for the 2008 Griffin Award - the prestigious annual prize offered for an outstanding new, unproduced Australian play or performance text.

Thanks to the generosity of Griffin's Principal Sponsor, PKF Chartered Accountants & Business Advisers, in addition to the $5,000 cash prize, the winner of the Award also receives a brand new laptop computer.

In 2008, the winning playwright will also work directly with Griffin on a workshop and rehearsed reading of their play, presented to the public during Searchlight ’08 - Griffin’s exciting week of readings of plays-in-progress.

To date, 11 playwrights have shared in the Award, since its inception. Previous winners include Catherine Zimdahl for Clark in Sarajevo, Ian Wilding for Below and The Carnivores, Brendan Cowell for Rabbit, Debra Oswald for Mr Bailey's Minder and Damien Millar for Emergency Sex (and Other Desperate Measures).

The 2008 Award received 100 entries from around Australia. The shortlist of eight plays being considered by the judges is:
• Alana Valentine – Redfern Heights (NSW)
• Catherine Ryan - Precipice (VIC)
• Christine Evans - Trojan Barbie (Overseas Resident)
• Julian Hobba - Father Son Rule (VIC)
• Rick Viede – Whore (NSW)
• Ross Mueller – Concussion (VIC)
• Simon Luckhurst - Lines in the Sand (NSW)
• Sue Smith - In the Violet Time (NSW)

Of the eight shortlisted playwrights, Christine Evans’ previous plays (including My Vicious Angel) have been produced by Adelaide International Festival, Belvoir St, Vitalstatistix and Deckchair Theatre. Sue Smith is an experienced screenwriter, with past credits include the feature film Peaches, My Brother Jack and Brides of Christ. Most recently, her mini-series about the waterfront dispute, Bastard Boys aired on ABC Television.

Ross Mueller’s previous plays include Construction of the Human Heart, The Glory and The Ghost Writer, and have been presented by companies including B Sharp, Malthouse Theatre, HotHouse Theatre and MTC. Catherine Ryan is also a former MTC Affiliate Writer and was a co-founder of Castlemaine’s Barking Owl Theatre.

Julian Hobba’s play Delicacy was first presented at Melbourne’s Trades Hall (directed by Wesley Enoch) in 2006, while Rick Viede has been working with Riverside Theatres' Breakout program. Simon Luckhurst is the Illawarra based author of Eddie’s Country.

Although Sue Smith and Rick Viede are Resident Playwrights at Griffin, both of the short-listed plays are new works, as the Residency does not permit its playwrights to submit works already in development with Griffin.

Judges in 2008 include: Tom Holloway (Playwright), Lyn Hallion (representing PKF), Marion Potts (Associate Director, Bell Shakespeare), Nick Marchand (Artistic Director, Griffin Theatre Company) and Victoria Chance (Currency Press).

The winner will be announced on Tuesday 26 August, at 7pm, followed by a rehearsed reading of the winning play in the SBW Stables Theatre.

Tickets: $5
Box Office: MCA-TIX 1300 306 776 or available from the Box Office on the day.

2009 Griffin Award
Entries for the 2009 Griffin Award will open early next year. Please refer to Griffin’s website for more information.

Most read Sydney reviews

Poirot and More: A Retrospective | David Suchet

David Suchet's charm, modesty and gentle charisma come together to generate an unexpectedly...

The Life of Us | Hayes Theatre Co

Finely observed and rich with truth, it also has a score full of killer songs and knockout...

Family Values | Griffin Theatre

In Family Values, David Williamson softens us up with a string of rib tickling zingers, the...

The Spoils | Flight Path Theatre

Ben wants to be a victor, but being a self centred dickhead does prove a problem. Narcissistic,...

Pomona | Secret House

Pomona is a play about the commodification of the body, especially the bodies of women. More...

Sign up for our newsletter

* indicates required