The Melbourne Fringe Festival Awards were announced to a capacity crowd in the Fringe Club late last  night. The awards celebrate and acknowledge the diversity, professionalism and exceptional quality of work in this year's festival.

'The 2010 Melbourne Fringe Festival represented one of the finest showcases of independent arts practice this country has ever seen,' says Creative Producer Emily Sexton. 'Our panel of nearly 100 arts industry representatives found it incredibly difficult to determine winners in this year's Festival; the quality of work was so high, the ideas so diverse and well resolved, the aesthetics so beautiful and strong. We are exceptionally proud not just of these award-winning shows, but of the depth and sophistication they represent of the independent arts sector as a whole. Take note of these incredible artists, you'll be sure to see more from them very soon!"


ACAPTA Circus Award - presented by Sue Broadway, Chair of ACAPTA, and last years' winner Mitch Jones
WINNER: Zoe Robbins, by A4 Circus Ensemble for "Downpour"
AWARD: ACAPTA membership for 1 year and participation in the Circus Festival in Tasmania (Feb 2011) OR participation in an International Masterclass with Witness Relocation from NYC, Nov 2010

Adelaide Fringe Award presented by Greg Clarke
WINNER: Stuart Bowden and Wil Greenway for "The Lounge Room Confabulators"
AWARD: The winner of the Adelaide Fringe 2011 Award will receive free registration and $2000 support for Adelaide Fringe 2011.

Auspicious Arts Award for Best Emerging Producer - presented by John Paul Fischbach
WINNER: Fez Faanana for "Briefs"
AWARD: One term in the Auspicious Arts Incubator, worth $1200.

Australian Entertainment Agents' Association Award for Innovation in Circus presented by Kevin Kosky, President of AEAA
WINNER: Women's Circus
AWARD: $1500 cash prize

Australian Entertainment Agents' Association Award presented by Kevin Kosky, President of AEAA
WINNER: Riki Metisse Marlow for "Make It Up Club"
AWARD: $1500 cash prize

Brisbane Powerhouse Comedy Award - presented by Sarah Neal
WINNER: Asher Treleaven for “Secret Door"
WINNER: Vachel Spirason And Stephanie Brotchie For "The Hermitude Of Angus, Ecstatic"
AWARD: Presentation and financial support for the 2011 Brisbane Comedy Festival

Circus Oz Award - presented by Antonella Casella
WINNER: Natano Faanana for "Briefs"
AWARD: Two weeks training/mentorship at Circus Oz with Artistic Director, Mike Finch

Ilbijerri Theatre Company Award for an Outstanding Indigenous Performing Artist
WINNER: Mia Stanford for "Under The Rug"
AWARD: Mentorship with Ilbijerri Theatre Company

Melbourne Cabaret Festival Award - presented by David Read
WINNER: Chose Rong Again
AWARD: Double gold pass to all shows in the Melbourne Cabaret Festival 2011, participation in a professional development cabaret workshop to be held as part of the Melbourne Cabaret Festival, and twenty hours use of The Butterfly Club showroom for development.

PACT Centre for Emerging Artists Award - presented by Cat Jones
WINNER: Grit Theatre for "Us"
AWARD: Presentation as part of PACT's Presents...series in Sydney in 2011

Theatre Works Award - presented by Angela Pamic
WINNER: Mutation Theatre
AWARD: Presentation at Theatre Works in 2011

Victorian Writers Centre Award for Best Emerging Playwright, supported by the Melbourne Theatre Company
WINNER: Mutation Theatre for "These Are The Isolate"
HIGHLY COMMENDED: Tom Pitts And Nick Bendall for "Ad Nauseum"
AWARD: $250 worth of professional development with the Victorian Writer's Centre; membership with Victorian Writer's Centre and tickets to Opening Night performances at the MTC for 2011


Presented by Emily Sexton, Creative Producer and Beau McCafferty, Independent Program Producer

Best Cabaret
WINNER: Sheridan Harbridge and Basil Hogios for "Mrs Bang: A Series Of Seductions In 55 Minutes"
Highly Commended: Geraldine Quinn for "Shut Up And Sing"
Highly Commended: The Jane Austen Argument for "The Spaces Between"

Best Circus
WINNER: Fez Faanana for "Briefs All Male Sharp Shootin' Circus Cabaret"

Best Comedy
WINNER: Vachel Spirason and Stephanie Brotchie for "The Hermitude Of Angus, Ecstatic"
Highly Commended: Andrew McClelland for "Truth Be Told"
Highly Commended: Anne Edmonds for "Ever Since The Dawn Of Anne"

Best Dance
WINNER: Emiline Forster for "Dust"

Best Fringe Kids
WINNER: Asking For Trouble for "Kapow"

Best Live Art
WINNER: The Art Day South Project for "Woodvale South"

Best Music
WINNER: The Harry James Angus Band for "It's Been A Long, Long Time... "

Best Performance
WINNER: Grit Theatre for "Us"
WINNER: The Hayloft Project for "Thyestes"
Highly Commended: Stuart Bowden and Wil Greenway for "The Lounge Room Confabulators"

Best Visual Arts
WINNER: Harrel Fletcher, Footscray Community Arts Centre, Hell Gallery, The Percy Grainger Museum, Arts Project Australia, Jeff Sparrow, Rise for "The Sound We Make Together (Melbourne)"
Highly Commended: Sapna Chandu for "Short Stories #1"

Best Venue
WINNER: Red Bennies

People's Choice Award
WINNER: Mutation Theatre for "The Arrival"

Two Awards are still to be determined as the outcomes are so close:

Best Special Event

Brisbane Powerhouse Performance Award - presented by Lee Cumberlidge
AWARD: Entry into the World Theatre Festival 2011 (Brisbane) and presentation support including $2000 to go toward flights, accommodation and remounting costs.


Most read Melbourne reviews

Master of the deadpan, harsh host of Hard Quiz, and heartless interrogator on Hard Chat, making...

Despite its seemingly bleak subject matter, Come From Away is joyous, hilarious, hopeful,...

It doesn’t matter how much you know or care about the legality of the Essendon Football Club...

Swapping 16th Century Verona for 1930s Hollywood, and a lengthy title for the short and snappy...

This play is that guest at your dinner party who, with one potent observation, generates such...