Friday, 27 February 2015
Sydney »
Latest Sydney Reviews
Music | Stories Like These and Griffin Independent
Written by Jodi McAlister   
Sunday, 06 April 2014 07:27

Music | Stories Like These and Griffin Independent

This knowledge that what you’re watching is based on someone’s actual experiences makes it difficult to say what I have to about this play: it didn’t work for me.

Read more...
 
Perplex | Sydney Theatre Company
Written by Jodi McAlister   
Saturday, 05 April 2014 08:47

Perplex | Sydney Theatre Company

This is theatre stacked on meta-theatre stacked on more meta-theatre stacked on some Nietzsche (and yes, he appears at one point. So does a Nazi. And an elk. Or do they?).

Read more...
 
Songs of the Divine: Baroque Masterpieces | The Choir and Orchestra of St James'
Written by Nicholas Routley   
Sunday, 23 March 2014 11:11

Songs of the Divine: Baroque Masterpieces | The Choir and Orchestra of St James'

The program informed me that the first choir formed at St James’ Church included convicts. I suppose there must be some other church choirs in Sydney with such a long history, but few have built on it to the extent that the choir of St James’ has.

Read more...
 
Ganesh Versus The Third Reich | Back to Back Theatre
Written by Jodi McAlister   
Wednesday, 12 March 2014 23:14

Ganesh Versus The Third Reich | Back to Back

There is brilliance in this show. There are moments I felt physically, moments like punches, moments of numbness. But I also found it kind of frustrating.

Read more...
 
Interplay | Sydney Dance Company
Written by Augusta Supple   
Saturday, 05 April 2014 15:47

Interplay | Sydney Dance Company

Interplay is an intriguing suite of works by Sydney Dance Company full of experimental expression, philosophical questioning and casual elegance.

Read more...
 
Stitching | Little Spoon Theatre Co
Written by Penny Spirou   
Friday, 28 March 2014 09:31

Stitching | Little Spoon Theatre Co

If you have ever heard your parents have a really intense argument and felt like you were totally helpless and just sat there and listened, you will feel that same experience haunt you again in Stitching.

Read more...
 
Madama Butterfly | Opera Australia
Written by Ben Nielsen   
Sunday, 23 March 2014 09:31

Madama Butterfly | Opera Australia

The third Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour heralds the collaboration of Opera Australia and Spanish creative team La Fura dels Baus. The result is an inspired reimagining of Giacomo Puccini’s Madama Butterfly.

Read more...
 
The Winter's Tale | Bell Shakespeare
Written by Jack Teiwes   
Friday, 07 March 2014 14:39

The Winter's Tale | Bell Shakespeare

Although a sometimes mildly confusing production of an often confounding play, this is nonetheless a fine rendition of one of Shakespeare’s comparatively lesser-performed works.

Read more...
 
«StartPrev12345678910NextEnd»

PozibleAustralian Stage JobsMembers Area
 

Most Read SYDNEY Reviews

Kill The Messenger | Belvoir
This is a compelling, taut, provocative piece of theatre. The decision to cast playwright Lui in the role of her own textua...
Faust | Opera Australia
The success of this production lies in the combination of great singing and dancing on an attractive looking set that manag...